• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Factors that improve general quality of images... (1 Viewer)

buzzard12

Having only very recently obtained a digital camera I am no expert but it seems to me that there is a huge amount a photographer can draw on to improve his results in the field. Thought a thread on these isues might be helpful to all those starting out, perhaps to all of those who photograph wild birds and mammals in the field...
I agree that the best equipment will immediatly give one a huge advantage but have noticed that some individuals are obtaining consistently excellent results, of a very high standard, through Digiscoping and with lower end Digital SLR's.
I have found with passing time that experimenting with my own camera's settings and just getting used to the camera, (a Canon A95) I have really improved results. I still have a lot to learn and am starting to realize that I may continue to do so for a very long time yet..
Another huge step for me was buying a 20xwa lens for my scope, was using a zoom, again results improved.
I have also bought a quality tripod, probably my last and best purchase, as I think this is an area where I was falling down, my last tripod was not up to the job at all, a low end Velbon which lacked stability and a fluidly moving head.