• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

New scope and tripod from scratch (1 Viewer)

Malcolm Onley

Hello everyone. I'm afraid this is a bit lengthy, sorry! I am new to birdwatching, digisciping and bird photography and am seeking advice on a suitable scope, tripod and head combination(heard that question before?!).

I have been looking at the Bird Forum (extremely useful) and a few web sites with product reviews, have phoned a small number of recommended retailers for advice and have had a cursery look in practice at the small and large Leica, Zeiss and Swarovski (but not Nikon, Pentax or Kowa yet). I know that in the end the only way to choose is to try several out in field conditions. However, I still would like a few more pointers as I don't feel I can bother even the best retailer by asking to see ten or so different scopes, each with a fixed ww and a zoom eye piece in combination with an equal number of different tripod/ heads!! So I want to try to narrow down the field a bit more before asking the retailer to let me play with perhaps two or three for a longer time, hence this note to tap into other members' experience and comparisons, particularly those of you who have, or have used, one of the current models from these makers.