• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon S1 IS closeups! (1 Viewer)

ScottCummings

Hi, i'm pretty new to photography and recently brought a Canon PowerShot S1 IS. I'm very happy with the camera. It takes some great pictures and is easy enough to use.

One issue I do have with it is this ability to take close up photos. Once you get with 1 foot or so of the subject the camera will not focus correctly.

I would like to take some close ups of plants/flowers (and birds if I can get close enough!).

Can anyone advise if this is a normal problem or if I need some type of macro lens attachment.

Also, any advice on a good telephoto lens which will fit on the Canon S1 IS.

Thanks for your time any advice appreciated. Scott

(Does anyone else have a Canon Powershot S1 IS)?

ScottCummings said:
Hi, i'm pretty new to photography and recently brought a Canon PowerShot S1 IS. I'm very happy with the camera. It takes some great pictures and is easy enough to use.

One issue I do have with it is this ability to take close up photos. Once you get with 1 foot or so of the subject the camera will not focus correctly.

I would like to take some close ups of plants/flowers (and birds if I can get close enough!).

Can anyone advise if this is a normal problem or if I need some type of macro lens attachment.

Also, any advice on a good telephoto lens which will fit on the Canon S1 IS.

Thanks for your time any advice appreciated. Scott

(Does anyone else have a Canon Powershot S1 IS)?

Hi !