• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Australian Field Guides (1 Viewer)

zuiko

Hello all,

I've read regarding Australian field guides recently after completing my own foray into the available options. I'm a relative beginner to birdwatching and hope to refer back to this thread in due course and compare my experiences down the line with those of now.

This summary will therefore appeal to those who are relatively new to the scene and who won't have the luxury of experience to guide them in their choice of a field guide.

Having said all that my first purchase of field guide was Moorcombe's; Out of the 4 major ones, it seemed to have a good balance between text and picture detail. The little identifying guides near the pictures were I felt when buying the book going to be of great benefit.

After using the book for a month or so I grew disappointed with it. The pictures were really nowhere up to scratch. I had borrowed a Pizzey and Knight from the local library and a female figbird I'd observed had still left doubts in my mind about whether it wasn't an olive backed oriole through Moorcombe's guide. P & K set things straight - the instant I saw the picture I knew it had been a figbird. The picture was that much better.

To a beginner and I'm sure a seasoned veteran, that is important. The little detail descriptions in Moorcombe I felt were kind of covering up for the lack of precision in the pictures themselves rather than helping ID.