• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

a sony setup (1 Viewer)

crimson skies

Hi all,
I am looking for a sony setup, with a DSLR, a high mag lense, (I am thinking of 75 - 300) and a a lense that can do wide images, that doesnt have to have a zoom, just good quality, portrait images, I dont know what these are, and what they are called, or what factors are involved, e.t.c.

for camera, I was thinking a200 or a350, but I have no experience with either, and would love some info on what they are actually like, and any other suggestions!

Tom

Hi,
I have owned a Sony a100, and now own a Sony a300. I can say that the a300 is a good camera, offering more options than than the Canon EOS line of cameras. The articulating screen on the a300 is very useful.

The a300 is a nice "in between" camera when compared to the a200 and a350. The a200, has NO articulating screen, and the a350, at 14 megapixels produces far noisier images than the a300.

If you look at the photos and the accompanying review here you will see that although the a350 has more megapixels, you really need to buy expensive glass to take advantage of it.

http://www.cameralabs.com/reviews/Sony_Alpha_DSLR_A300/outdoor_results.shtml

In the end my recommendation has to be the a300. As far as the lenses go, make sure you get some of the older used Minolta gear, the lenses that Sony makes for it's consumer, non pro grade gear, feels very plasticy, and produces soft images.