• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Help needed with how to find small birds using a long lens (1 Viewer)

ndwgolf

Guys
I am new to bird photography (and love it) a problem that I am finding is that when I see say a small kingfisher fly into a tree/bush, I can look at it and see it very clearly but as soon as I put my camera to my eye I struggle to find the small bird when using my 600mm f4 lens with a 1.7 TC.
A fellow birder mentioned some kind of device that you can attach to the hot shoe of the camera that can help............but he doesn't have a name.
Can anyone recommend what I can do or get to help me find these small birds??

The first thing to do is focus around the distance the bird is at then take a mental note of the twigs around a 3ft square this helps as you look with your eyes then the lens .

It gives an idea of where the bird is in relation to the surrounding twigs .

Rob.

Same way we learn to handle binoculars and scopes.
Practice!

Seriously!

Agreed.
Even harder with a 'scope I would imagine.

The best way is to look for a near reference point like a branch and follow that as a path to the subject.

The first thing to do is focus around the distance the bird is at then take a mental note of the twigs around a 3ft square this helps as you look with your eyes then the lens .

It gives an idea of where the bird is in relation to the surrounding twigs .

Rob.

All good advice :t:

1. Practice lining up your lens with your eye focal point. It will help. You will get better, and practice helps you get towards perfect.
2. Pre-focus on the distance.