• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Hello From SW Florida (1 Viewer)

lilbarbr

Hi all! I am a novice birder. Not a lot of time for it at home but do try to get out some. I do more when on vacation and like to mix it in with other things as I love to experience as much as possible on vacation. I love that we have easy access to some great places to bird and enjoy the outdoors in our back yard so to speak. We are not heavy adventurers but enjoy moderate adventure.

My husband and I are readying for a trip through the Panama Canal and on to Lima Peru then visiting Cusco, the Sacred Valley, and Machu Picchu.

It was while searching out binoculars that I found this site. I had a couple pairs and my husband has very old pair that is a bit cumbersome. I have discovered here in Florida the rubber covered ones do not last very long. I was on a trip to Costa Rica and took one pair of travel size bins that I inherited and were kept well in their case. I could not figure out where all this black greasy stuff was coming from on my hands and in my waterproof bag...it was the bins that had gone back to grease from rubber :(