• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Best of older technology (1 Viewer)

1973CJ5

Hello,

I am just getting started in digiscoping. I have a Pentax 20x60x80 EDA spotter. I have a possible choice of using a Nikon P6000 or Nikon 8400. I know very little about photography and am thinking it would be easier to start digiscoping with one of these cameras older/less expensive cameras ( I can get one or the other for under $80 right now). Once I learned a thing or two, I could then pick up a new/more expensive camera. If you had to make a choice..... which camera (P6000 or 8400) would you choose and why?

I read in another thread you started about DIY adapaters that you have already purchased on Ebay a whole stable of cameras that are just as capable, maybe even more so, than these "new" choices (step 2) and (step3) wanted to know how to make a compatible adapter.

Your intro post also says you are in Japan as a Pro B-ball coach. If you are ever in Tokyo I would be happy to show you the art of digiscoping.