• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Junco (1 Viewer)

Bird and squirrel lover.
I am new to the birding world and looking for a pronunciation of the Dark-Eyed Junco. Is it June like the month or like junk? My apologies if this isn't the place to ask.

Not a silly question

-25 said:
I am new to the birding world and looking for a pronunciation of the Dark-Eyed Junco. Is it June like the month or like junk? My apologies if this isn't the place to ask.

It's like "junk - o." Your question is a fair one, though, because it isn't always obvious how to pronounce bird names. It took me a while to get "pileated" right. Also, some names (e.g., egret) have more than one correct pronunciation.

Jeff

I appreciate the response, unfortunately I was wrong, I thought it was like june, but okay, Dark-Eyed Junco it is.

LOL speak of the devil got 3 in the feeder eating the new berries/nuts/seed mix. At least now I can call them by their real name. Thanks again.

-Drake.

Great birds

-25 said:
I appreciate the response, unfortunately I was wrong, I thought it was like june, but okay, Dark-Eyed Junco it is.

LOL speak of the devil got 3 in the feeder eating the new berries/nuts/seed mix. At least now I can call them by their real name. Thanks again.

-Drake.

They're great birds, aren't they? When we lived near San Francisco, we would see them all winter, sometimes in flocks of 100+. Since we moved to near Houston, we've seen only one and that only one time. However, in Salt Lake City over Thanksgiving we saw quite a few.

Jeff