• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Iphone microphone with wind noise cancelling (1 Viewer)

Sbiriguda

Hello,
I am a newbie and I need an ultra cheap solution for birding and animals for the next trip to Kruger Park (South Africa).
Right now I am just planning to use an Iphone perhaps with a "deadcat" to cancel windnoise. Otherwise I could consider to buy an external microphone for Iphone or a separate recording device, if it's possible to find it used

I will also use a D3100 Camera and a Canon Powershot 60 HS camera both of them with Microphone and they both could be used for recording with or without an external microphone

But honestly unless you advice differently I would like to use the Iphone and use an external mic, since it's more portable and this setup could prove useful also for other trips
Thanks

If you want something inexpensive which will work with both your phone and camera, have a look at the Boya BY-MM1 microphone. There are lots of reviews on Youtube and it is widely used for vlogging. It can be found on Amazon and eBay and contains all the components that you need.

A thing I found quite upsetting is that to use this mic with a smartphone you actually need an additional cold shoe mount (I think this is the name) to hold microphone and smartphone

A thing I found quite upsetting is that to use this mic with a smartphone you actually need an additional cold shoe mount (I think this is the name) to hold microphone and smartphone

Hi!