• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Celestron Regal M2 65 and Baader Hyperion Zoom Mark IV (1 Viewer)

Borjam

Spain
Hi :)

I have been using the Celestron with the Celestron zoom for several years now and I am really happy with the bang for the buck. But the Celestron zoom loses too much contrast and a bit of detail when pushing it beyond roughly 40x (the 64 mm scope with the zoom goes from 16x to 48x).

I ordered a Hyperion Zoom Mark IV after reading on this forum that it can focus properly (and indeed their user manual specifically shows a Celestron Regal M2) and it has arrived today.

I have arrived home a bit late, so no time to test outdoors, but looking at the polyps of the corals in my aquarium and the copepods on the glass the difference is quite noticeable. The Hyperion shows remarkably better contrast at maximum power (8 mm in telescope parlance, which is 48x) in my opinion. The test wasn't an easy one. Looking at the polyps of a Sinularia coral I could see the tentacles very clearly, despite being the same color as the rest of the colony. Much better than with the Celestron zoom.

I'll check outdoors as soon as possible, probably on Friday. But so far seems to be a worthy update.

As a plus, it seems that in case I got a Hummingbird tiny scope the eyepiece would work with it as well.

The zoom comes bundled with several mounting adapters. One of them critical to use with spotting scopes, is clearly labelled as "nosepiece adapter for spotting scope adaptation" and the other one as "nosepiece adapter for Telescope adaptation".