• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Small binoculars : Nikon M7 8*30 vs Zeiss Terra Pocket 8*25... or something else (1 Viewer)

Hello,

I am a newbie in binoculars, and have read a lot on this forum to learn. I would like to use some compact binoculars to look at birds, nature, and sometimes sky. I could spend about 400 € if it is for more than 10 years. I am rather a contemplative guy and like to look at stars with naked eye, and to recognize birds during a forest walk. I have got no binoculars yet. Actually, I tried to buy some a long time ago, they were 8*42 Perl, and I brought them back to the store when I realized that I didn't use them, being too big, stored at the bottom of my backpack.

To make sure I will bring them during walks (and travels and car trips) and use them, I need them small... and appealing. I don't hike with the main goal to look with my binoculars, I just would like to have binoculars when I encounter some birds or landscapes or unexpected thing to see. Something like an efficient tool to enlarge my vision and dream a little more. I don't aim at looking through binoculars for hours, it is rather a matter of minutes (but many times).