Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Swift Tyrol 15x60

Old Sunday 31st March 2019, 12:07   #1
Joker9937

Swift Tyrol 15x60

I have had little to no luck with this binocular. Thought it might be of interest to some, and maybe elicit some help for me by posting.

I am a rookie at the vintage binocular pursuit, but my impression is that this is/was a nice binocular when new. My particular set is still very nice, but in the process of attempting to free a frozen diopter over the period of roughly a month, I broke the diopter ring and threaded sleeve. However, the image quality through the intact side seems excellent, all things considered. Looking at Jupiter showed a sharp round ball, and 4 pin-point moons. Not sure that any detail of the surface would be perceptible, but on a tripod, I would not be surprised. Daytime views are sharp with nice color and contrast. I would love to actually use them to observe the bald eagles behind my house.

So, does anyone on here have any first-hand knowledge/experience, or any book knowledge of them, for that matter?

I can say that they seem to be worth the effort that I am going to need to put forth to get them properly repaired. I have posted a couple of want ads for parts, but don't know how to do that on this site.

If there have been other posts on this site about them, I apologize for starting a new thread. I searched, but did not find anything. If anyone else needs details about mine to compare to theirs, I am happy to oblige. If you need/want more pics, I can do that too.

Thank you.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190228_175203.jpg
Views:	42