Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Birds and UK law.

Old Wednesday 8th June 2005, 18:53   #1
javva
Caffeine fiend.

Birds and UK law.

I am a contractor and where I am working they have high mast lighting to light the vast site. I can’t say where or what the company do for legal reasons.

About this time of year these high masts are lowered to facilitate the repair of the lights.

These posts probably have birds nesting in them (rooks, crows whatever).

If so, are any birds nesting therein protected by UK law, and till when would the maintenance on the posts have to be put off?

BF Supporter 2006 2007 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 8th June 2005, 22:10   #2
Stranger

Hi
If any of the birds are in schedule 1 of the Wildlife and Countryside Act you would almost certainly be committing an offence.
See earlier posting re gallery rules.

BF Supporter 2007 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 8th June 2005, 22:14   #3
Katy Penland

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stranger
See earlier posting re gallery rules.
Maybe I'm missing something here, but what do our Gallery rules have to do with his question? Just curious.

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2010 2014 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 9th June 2005, 07:34   #4
Nightranger
Senior Moment

Quote:
Originally Posted by javva
I am a contractor and where I am working they have high mast lighting to light the vast site. I can’t say where or what the company do for legal reasons.

About this time of year these high masts are lowered to facilitate the repair of the lights.