• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Lens for photographing butterflies and dragonflies (1 Viewer)

Helios

Hi,

I've got a Nikon D80 with a Tamron 200-500 lens, which is a good setup for photographing birds, but doesn't really have a small enough minimum shooting distance to be useful for shooting butterflies and dragonflies. Would the 300mm f4 lens (Nikon) be a solution for this; a teleconverter could be used for birds, and the lens on is own for insects? Or would I be better off with a separate macro lens?

I'm no expert so take this with that in mind. I took what I think is a pretty good shot of a dragonfly with my 70-300 VR nikon zoom. Take a look at my gallery. I found the zoom to be very helpful as I quickly framed the shot (insects move fast!). The vibration reduction was very helpful as the shot was hand held. The lens is about half the price of the 300 f4. Finally, the lens is perfect for taking shots of my kids doing sports (so it was easy to justify the expense to my wife).

Hi,

I've got a Nikon D80 with a Tamron 200-500 lens, which is a good setup for photographing birds, but doesn't really have a small enough minimum shooting distance to be useful for shooting butterflies and dragonflies. Would the 300mm f4 lens (Nikon) be a solution for this; a teleconverter could be used for birds, and the lens on is own for insects? Or would I be better off with a separate macro lens?
Hi Helios,
Buy a set of kenko extension tubes to use with the Tamron. This will reduce the minimum focus distance enough for dragons & butterflys. You can then remove them for shooting birds.