• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Why am I not getting more birds?? (1 Viewer)

Chilt

Hello everyone, so I’m pretty new to garden feeding, been doing it about a year now and have been constantly upgrading, I like in the uk with a lot of trees near the back garden and a lot of wild life going on. Here is what I have for the birds to eat!

Tom chambers bird feeding station
Niger seed
Sunflower hearts
No wheat mixed seed feeder
Dried Mealworms
Suet to go fat balls
Suet block
Anti squirrel nut feeder (only perches)
Separate bird bath
Nesting boxes
(These are all located far from a big hedge/bush

Now I get a few birds to the garden like I’ll get 2 gold finches come and I’ll get a robin come and have some mealworms, and a blue tit is enjoying the fat balls at the moment. I’ll get the odd great tit having some nuts, but with how much stuff I have and it’s all not cheap quality seed, id expect more birds than what I’m getting, am I doing something wrong?

Any help would be a massive help!

Thanks

Chilt

I think some pictures as to how things are set up and an overview of how your garden looks and where it's located would help a lot.
Mind you that external factors like cats and noise / lots of movement during the day can put birds off.

I'm no expert, I only get sparrows, tits, magpies and pigeons at my feeder, if I'm lucky a jackdaw show up, but I live in a large city not rural.

I think some pictures as to how things are set up and an overview of how your garden looks and where it's located would help a lot.