• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

A novice in eastern Australia October 2013 (1 Viewer)

Pat MS

First a bit of a preamble: I am not a novice when I’m in the UK but this was my first Australian trip, apart from a few days in Sydney 5 years ago. I tend to bird watch on holiday rather than go on bird watching holidays.

While in Australia, I used the Slater Field Guide to Australian Birds and the Michael Morcombe app. Neither is ideal, the Slater having irritating indexing errors and the Morcombe having no photos and a restricted search function. Nevertheless, I reckon I did well to see 130+ species of birds in three and a half weeks without too much expert help.

Starting off with a few days more in Sydney from 5 October, we did more or less the same things as before and unsurprisingly saw more or less the same birds as 5 years ago. My husband is very keen on boats and so we spent a lot of time in the harbour area, arriving on the back of an International Fleet Review.

The Botanical Gardens, which hosts common birds such as Sulphur Crested Cockatoo, White Ibis, Masked Lapwing, Rainbow Lorikeet, Australian Wood Duck, Noisy Miner, Welcome Swallow, Magpie-lark and Eastern Rosella is luckily right on the water’s edge. Both parties were therefore happy. Five years ago the Gardens were home to a huge number of fruit bats. These have apparently been encouraged to go elsewhere with the help of heavy metal music.