• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ringed White Stork France (1 Viewer)

Mike Beer

A few days ago whilst visiting Honfleur, France I took a photograph of a Ringed White Stork. The leg ring was white and had four letters AYEY. How can I trace the information on this leg ring.

Thanks

Mike.

Attachments

• DSCN1962.jpg
    DSCN1962.jpg
    153.8 KB · Views: 42
Thank you for replying and I have looked at the link you sent. I can't work out how to trace this individual ringed bird. This is new to me I have never tried to trace a ringed bird before.

Mike.

Hi Mike,

Thank you for replying and I have looked at the link you sent. I can't work out how to trace this individual ringed bird. This is new to me I have never tried to trace a ringed bird before.

cr-birding.org is meant to provide the email address (or in some cases, the website) of the ringing project.

There are some sites that allow interactive ring tracing, like geese.org, but I think most ringing projects don't have the technology for this yet.

In my (limited) experience, you just send a summary of your sighting to the contact mentioned at cr-birding.org, and in return, you receive a "life history" of the bird you observed. (Which can be quite fascinating!) In some cases, I even received updates whenver the bird was re-sighted by other observers.

It's usually a manual process though, so it takes the usual "human in the loop" response time before you get an answer.