Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

printscreen not working

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 13:29   #1
Surreybirder
Ken Noble
 
Surreybirder's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lingfield Surrey
Posts: 8,261
printscreen not working

I run Windows 10 and I was taking screenshots (of the Panama bird cam) with no prob. Now, suddenly, it isn't working and all I get is a black picture. I've looked on line and there are various suggestions about using [ALT] + [Print Screen] but no combination of keys seems to make it work.
Any suggestions?
Surreybirder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 14:11   #2
njlarsen
Opus Editor
 
njlarsen's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portsmouth, Dominica
Posts: 21,204
Have you considered the snipping tool as an alternative way of getting what is on the screen?

And secondly, try a different browser to see if there is something weird in the way they code their interpretation of the signal?

Niels
__________________
Support bird conservation in the Caribbean: BirdCaribbean

Temporarily living in Tennessee
njlarsen is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 15:41   #3
Surreybirder
Ken Noble
 
Surreybirder's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Lingfield Surrey
Posts: 8,261
Thanks Niels.
I tried various things and found that the Windows Button plus PrintScreen worked when I tried to take a picture of my desktop. But it didn't work in Firefox.
I have an app from my bank called Rapport - which is supposed to make my online banking secure. It's possible that the app is interfering with Printscreen but I don't know why it would suddenly do that.
I don't seem to be able to get the Snipping Tool to work either.
Surreybirder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 16:04   #4
delia todd
Moderator but....... If I say the wrong thing put it down to Senior Moments
BF Supporter 2018
 
delia todd's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Perthshire
Posts: 229,117
Hi Ken

I've never been able to work out how to do Print Screen.... but just tried your suggestion of Windows + PrtSc and pasted it into Paint (the photo editor programme I use) and it worked.

My browser is PaleMoon, I also have the old-type version of Firefox and it worked on that too.

It could well be one of your other settings... try disabling Rapport temporarily while you try. If not, it'll be a case of running through all the security thingies you have to see which one is blocking the feature.
__________________
In between goals is a thing called life, that has to be lived and enjoyed

2006 63, 2007 52, 2008 46, 2009 32, 2010 31, 2011 27 Total 81

Latest Patch tick: Magpie

The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing - Socrates
delia todd is online now  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 17:18   #5
Adey Baker
Member
 
Adey Baker's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Hinckley, Leics
Posts: 4,949
Try 'Fn' + Prt Scr'
Adey Baker is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2005 2006 2007 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 17:36   #6
KC Foggin
Super Moderator
BF Supporter 2018
 
KC Foggin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Myrtle Beach SC "Smiling Faces, Beautiful Places"
Posts: 238,434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Surreybirder View Post
I run Windows 10 and I was taking screenshots (of the Panama bird cam) with no prob. Now, suddenly, it isn't working and all I get is a black picture. I've looked on line and there are various suggestions about using [ALT] + [Print Screen] but no combination of keys seems to make it work.
Any suggestions?
So ctrl & print screen doesn't work? It does on my windows 10 at the office.
__________________
KC a/k/a common KC

Karma - What you send out
Comes right back at ya
KC Foggin is online now  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Saturday 14th April 2018, 18:40   #7
SanAngelo
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: San Angelo Tx
Posts: 391
In Firefox click on the 3 dots on the right side of the address bar.

Select 'Take a Screenshot' and follow the prompts.
SanAngelo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 16th April 2018, 00:00   #8
BamaMike
Registered User
BF Supporter 2018

 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Peterborough
Posts: 13
You shouldn't have to press anything in addition to the Print Screen key itself.

If it's working on your desktop but not in Firefox then it's likely something to do with Firefox. Perhaps see if it is due for an update.
BamaMike is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 18th April 2018, 01:19   #9
emc
Registered User
 
emc's Avatar

 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 150
I've read of people having problems with their computer after installing rapport.
__________________
MyArt
emc is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nocmig rig not working! Jhanlon Bird Sounds Recording Eqpt & Discussion 10 Thursday 30th November 2017 17:31
IS not working barshnik Canon 6 Wednesday 6th June 2012 20:09
AvG not working. Help firecrest9 Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 3 Sunday 6th January 2008 20:26

{googleads}
Opticron - NEW DBA VHD+ 8x42, 10x42. Prices from £579

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.14782000 seconds with 19 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 23:31.