• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Camera Settings (1 Viewer)

lmans66

Out Birding....
Supporter
United States
I know in a previous posting (for all cameras) I have seen that many people prefer the AV aperture Priority. I have a 450 and have found I prefer the TV shutter priority and manipulate the ISO . In AV the pictures are not sharp and that is taking it down as low as I can. I have a 80-400 Tokina and usually have been shooting between 300-400 depending on AF.

I am fairly new at the Rebel recently coming up from a S3 ...what do others shoot at and why? thanks, jim (Washington State in USA, dreary and cold and foggy about now too)...

A rule of thumb is that for hand holding minimum shutter speed should equate to focal length e.g. 1/400 sec with a 400mm lens. Even 1/400 can be difficult to achieve and hold steady so I prefer to look for some support whether monopod or leaning against a fence or tree etc.

Some zoom lenses have a tendency to be a little soft at full aperture so reducing aperture a little can help with sharper photos. In AV mode you control aperture so on say an f5,6 lens you can select f6,3 or f7,1 or preferably f8 to get the best out of the lens.

Adjusting ISO is okay to some extent. Mostly I shoot at ISO400 but anything much higher leads to sensor noise - graininess in the image. If very bright then I drop to ISO200.

About the only time I use TV for birds is when using external flash as I can set a higher sync speed in TV mode - usually 1/500.

I believe, I may be wrong, that the fastest shutter speed can only be obtained using AV, Aperture Priority.