• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Veagle's 2014 List (1 Viewer)

veagle

Well, I am getting started a bit late this year. I have been doing this documentation since 2009, and I guess I would be less than honest if I didn't say that doing the routine January birds in South Dakota is less than very exciting, particularly this year. All the finches that visited last year are long gone. No Redpolls this year, and very few Pine Siskins.

But the larger issue is to come up with my birding goals for 2014. It all depends on perspective. I will no doubt see more species this year than I have ever seen in a single year. In a couple of weeks, my wife and I will spend a week in Panama, our first birding in the Neotropics. In April, we will visit Texas, and in October, we have a week scheduled in Ecuador. So I am expecting a boat-load of lifers. I am thinking that the two overseas trips could add 400 lifers to my list, and maybe 500 species total. Other travel will include New Mexico in the summer, a possible quick trip to Boston in April, and eastern South Dakota in May, and this might be a pretty good year, from an ABA perspective. I guess I will look again at a goal of 400 ABA species, but it won't be easy. World total of 800 would be outstanding.

Lastly, I am looking to work on my county lists in South Dakota, along with some local birding friends. I want to increase the number of counties in which I have seen 100 species.

I know all these quantitative goals seem pretty anal, but I do also really, really, love to just get out there, often by myself, and enjoy the process.