• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Nikon 300mm f2.8 VR ll (1 Viewer)

BillN

I have been using a Nikon AFS 300mm f4 ED IF for a couple of years now.
I really like the lens, it has allowed me to take some of my best images ever.
I use it with the D300 and D7100, (with the x 1.3 crop factor mode).
I have a Nikon x 1.4 TC ll, (I only use this when using the combo on a tripod)

Most of the time I use it on the move but if I can I use it with a tripod and gimbal.

(I have never really found a problem with the tripod foot on this lens - contrary to the experts comments)

Like many I really enjoy nature photography and am prepared to spend money on my hobby.

A new 300mm f2.8 VR ll is about £4000 + and the latest x 2 TC lll maybe £300.

My question - I would really appreciate user comments on the comparison of the two lenses plus opinions on the VR ll 300mm f2.8 as £4,500 is quite a lot of money to spend.
I would use the lens 60% of the time hand held and the rest on a gimbal/tripod combo.

Also is the VR ll much better than the VR l - as a good used lens would be attractive from a price standpoint

(Also I have read that the more megapixels you have the more that any "camera shake" will be noticeable - i.e. the D7100 with 24 meg needs a more "stable" tripod than the D300 with 14 mega)

I have a 70 200mm VR and a Nikon V1 plus FT1 but I have never really found either to be anywhere near the IQ of the AFS 300mm f4 and D300

Thanks

Last edited:
Hi Bill,

Are you going to shoot under low light? The lens weight is over 6lbs. plus the cost.

Mike