• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

UK Feld Guide - help please (1 Viewer)

kizibu

Hi

I'm very new to birding and BF so apologies if this is going over old ground.

Can anyone suggest a good field guide to UK birds for the beginner please?

I guess it needs to be:

- small enough to take out in my pocket (ie usable in the field)

- very clear about the distinguishing marks that I should be looking for (ie a guide)

At the moment I'm using my 40-year copy of A Field Guide to the Birds of Britain & Europe by Peterson Mountford and Hollom. Its good on the second of these but like me its chunkier than it should be and getting a bit fragile.

Kizibu

Hi
The general concensus I believe is the Collins Bird guide, Mullarney, Svensson, Zetterstrom, Grant. ISBN 0-00-711332-3 (that is my edition anyway, a few years old now). The writing is on the small side but is very comprehensive. welcome to Birdforum and happy birding!

Well, it probably won't fit in your pocket but the one I use is Collins Bird Guide, one of the best. There is a paperback version.

Joanne

Hi Kizibu,