• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Digiscoping please help (1 Viewer)

Marcus Conway - ebirder

I have been digiscoping now for 6 months with a mixture of satisfaction. However I have just returned from a 5 hours in the field in fustration. My images are just never sharp, I have concluded this may be for a number of reasons.

• I am rubbish
  • my cp990 set up isn't right (I think it is though)
  • My tripod can't support the wieght (15 year Slik D70)
  • I expect too much

I am desperate to carry on, please let me know any suggestions!! :stuck:

Jimmy, you dont say what scope you have, are you using an adapter or hand holding, do you use a remote shutter release, what settings are being used on your camera, without full information it is difficult for people to help you.

Robert L Jarvis said:
Jimmy, you dont say what scope you have, are you using an adapter or hand holding, do you use a remote shutter release, what settings are being used on your camera, without full information it is difficult for people to help you.

Sure I have a kowa tsn 823, with a 28mm thread adapter, with the little screws that screw onto the eyepiece from LCExchange. I have attached some images below, which are typical. Don't have a remote shutter release - didn't know you could get on for the cp990...

Attachments

• rbunt.JPG
    rbunt.JPG
    102.5 KB · Views: 395
  • rbs2.JPG
    rbs2.JPG
    85.3 KB · Views: 347
  • garganey1.JPG
    garganey1.JPG
    118.6 KB · Views: 360
I'd be pretty chuffed with those - fancy a sawp? ;)