• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

RAW vs JPEG (1 Viewer)

Simmo1111

I am relatively new to bird photography and am currently just taking my shots in JPEG mode for simplicity's sake. Some of my shots need to be "adjusted" in Photoshop but my skills only stretch to adjusting the brightness and the colour settings.

I am wondering if I might be better shooting in RAW format so that I have a bit more control over the end results of my shots or would I be better learning how to use Photoshop more proficiently ?

Obviously learning to take the shot properly in the first place would be the more desirable option !!!

Thanks in advance.

You would need to learn to use photoshop or another raw converter better than what you currently can use photoshop to do on jpgs, so either way, you have a learning curve to go through to get better.

Niels

I agree with Niels - RAW is a great mode to work in and with for more control, but you do need to have a little more understanding of editing in order to get that benefit - not a vast amount more, but just enough.
If your worried you can always shoot in RAW+JPEG mode - giving you both formats to play with (the JPEG for now and the RAWs for later when you know a little more) and it would allow you to gently ease into RAW editing without pressure - the only downside of course is that it will eat up more memory card space of course.

For some good editing advice have a read here: http://www.ronbigelow.com/articles/articles.htm

I would say get a working understanding of; levels, curves, contrast, layermasks, as well as reading up a bit on white balance.