• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Ravens (1 Viewer)

Hi everyone,

I'm new here so please be gentle! A little about me - I'm 25, from Wigston, been a wildlife enthusiast since early childhood, have been a birder since my teens (my dad was a keen birder). I go out walking and watching casually - with plenty going on (I'm a keen cyclist and spend a lot of time maintaining my pro-cycling blog, + work, + Just got married amongst other things) I don't spend as much time in the field as I should or would like! I'm an expert on nothing, an enthusiast on some things but a continuing 'learner' on everything.

I've decided to take it upon myself to document the spread of Ravens into our county, hoping to build up a more detailed picture of population figures, habitats, nest sites but it's tough work going solo and I can't be everywhere at once. I have spoken with both the BTO and LROS who have been helpful so far and the BTO especially are interested in my findings. I intend to dedicate a certain amount of time to this over the next three years or so and the Leicester Mercury recently printed a news story in an effort to drum up some public attention and to get people to contact me with possible sightings etc which are all to be plotted on maps and such like. The article is here: http://www.leicestermercury.co.uk/Help-chart-raven-s-renaissance/story-19511345-detail/story.html (yes, the Mercury ironically printed a picture of a Rook, which wasn't the best start I'll admit)