• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Micro 4/3 vs. DSLR (1 Viewer)

Rapala

I'm sure there's been a post similar to this before, but I'll bring it up again. Is there any dividing line between the two? (MFT vs. DSLR). I'm relatively new to the idea, but I know they have a larger sensor (than my superzoom), are fairly lightweight, has a 2x crop factor, etc. I've read that they aren't particularly good in low light and have a slow focusing system. Both of these could be drawbacks to my purchase, if I do decide to take the MFT path.

Should I just stick with my Fujifilm superzoom, or change to a different bridge-camera, like the HS50? Weight isn't a huge problem (of course, the lighter the better B :)), and the price isn't really either- if necessary I'll wait a bit and save up, or wait for the price to drop. I really want higher picture quality (than my superzoom), and for that I'm not sure which would be best.

Are there MFT any that you would suggest? The biggest factor is probably how fast the focusing is. I've been looking at the Panasonic G series, but I'm open to anything. (If possible, could you attach any sample pictures so I can see what I'm getting into?) Thanks

EDIT: Now that I see there are only two pages to the MFT forum, and that there is not a post similar to this :eek!:

Last edited:
Rapala,
I will be up front: I may be biased because I have a m4/3 and no dSLR.