• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Advice needed for organizing and classifying pictures (1 Viewer)

joannec

Europe
I am very new to digital photography and would like some advice about programmes for classifying and organizing my pictures. I have the HP Photo and Imaging programme which came with the printer and Zoom Browser which came with the Canon S2 IS camera. Do some of you have experience with either of these programmes and are they any good? I have heard there are some free viewing and album programmes available. Can anyone recommend any? Is it better to buy one of the album programmes and if so can anyone recommend any particular ones? I am currently experimenting with Serif Photo Plus for editing but it doesn't have an album with it. Would I be better off investing in Photoshop?

I use ThumbsPlus for cataloguing my photos. You can add any number of folders and sub folders. It also has some good image manipulation tools as well as a good slide show feature.

It used to be a freebie with magazine CD's but by the looks of it, it's only free for a time limited period now.

Mine's TP4 but it's now up to version 7. If the TP+4 is anything to go by then it's well worth the money.

The program Picasa, free from Goggle, is very popular, and mentioned many times in threads on this forum - i.e. you could do a Forum search on it and get more info. Or go to the website and take a look - http://picasa.google.com/

joannechattaway said: