• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Vis. Mig. (1 Viewer)

mr.sim

Honourable founding member of the "day late" gang
Hi all.
I'm simeon (15) and I live in Norfolk. I have been birdwatching for 9 years now, but I am interested/confused about one thing in particular. It's fairly local to me in Norfolk, but most people will know what I'm on about.
Yesterday, I visited Holme with a friend, Connor. We were at Gore Point by about 7:20am, to see some migrants going over. It was a westerly wind, but we still managed to get 113 Meadow Pipits, 5 Tree Sparrows, 4 Greenfinches, several Linnets, 9 Siskin, the odd Skylark, 10 Snow Buntings, and 9 Pied Wagtails!
Whilst having a discussion with Connor about how all the birds got concentrated at Hunstanton (thus making the cliffs there one of the best sites for vis. mig. in the area), I suddenly wondered where all the birds go after Hunstanton.
I always hear about something getting tracked all along the coast (say, a crane, or something); Cley, Holkham, Titchwell, Holme (sometimes Hunstanton), but then thats it. They're gone. They just seem to pop off the radar. It might just be me being ignorant, but they never seem to get further than Hunstanton.
Why is this??? Do they go up north, to Lincolnshire? Please, someone enlighten me.
I then thought, this morning, what might happen to some of those birds.
On migration, most birds tend to follow the coast, unless that is, if they're tired. Some birds do come inland.