Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Swarovski Habicht 10x40

Old Saturday 29th May 2010, 09:39   #1
Rossstephens

Swarovski Habicht 10x40

Hi all,

I currently use a pair of Nikon E11 10x35 which I think are a superb binocular and I've been using for about 10 years. My only gripe is they're not waterproof and with being out in all conditions they do fog up now and again.
I'm considering upgrading to the Swarovski Habicht 10x40s which seem to be the only quality waterproof Porro prizms around. Anyone have any views on these? Any opinions much appreciated!
Cheers!
Ross.
Old Saturday 29th May 2010, 11:28   #2
ingle1970

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rossstephens View Post
Hi all,

I currently use a pair of Nikon E11 10x35 which I think are a superb binocular and I've been using for about 10 years. My only gripe is they're not waterproof and with being out in all conditions they do fog up now and again.
I'm considering upgrading to the Swarovski Habicht 10x40s which seem to be the only quality waterproof Porro prizms around. Anyone have any views on these? Any opinions much appreciated!
Cheers!
Ross.
hello and welcome Ross

Like yourself i own the 10x35 EII, but have also been mulling over the Swaro porro for some time and decided to take the plunge, so i have just ordered an 8x30 W.

As you say the weatherproofing will pay dividends, other forum members have used the 10x35 in rain etc with no problems, i would rather use it in fair weather...

'You have rightly chosen,' said God, 'for in my garden of Paradise this little bird shall sing for evermore, and in my city of gold the Happy Prince shall praise me'.