• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Best Spotting scope for digiscoping (1 Viewer)

Ziad

Hello Guys,
First of all please excuse my weak language ,I am from Lebanon .
I would like to seek your advise as an experts in the spotting scopes field .
I am planning to buy a scope for birds watching and Digiscoping at a long distance .
I am a beginner and has a humble experience by digiscoping through a Binocular Vortex Kaibab 20*56.

After a tone of researches, I decided to ho with one of the following :
1- Swarovski ATX 95 with 1.7 extender and the VPA phone adapter .
2- Zeiss Victory Harpia 95 .
3- Kowa 883 with the eye piece TE-11WZ with the 1.6 extender.

Kindly help me with your experience to select one noting that I like to watch objects at a long distance .

Appreciate your help .

Hi,

first of all, welcome to birdforum!

This post would fit better into the spotting scope forum - maybe a moderator could move it?

Since you're going for maximum range, the models Kowa or Swaro will give a bit more reach with the extender - at least in theory.

In practice you have to get an example which is good enough so an extender makes sense and also you need good seeing to be actually able to use the magnification in the field. Heat haze will make the view through a perfect instrument look not quite in focus...

My best advice is to try to test the example you want to buy with the extender and see if you get a sharp image - preferably on a cool and overcast day - if that is an option at your location. Or you could do a star test - either at night or with an artificial star.

Joachim

Hi,