• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding & Bird Photography from Car, UK (1 Viewer)

CactusD

ἀρχός οἰ&#969
Hi all,
Here's a speculative post for some info.

In anticipation of passing our driving tests soonish :)eek!::h?:), my wife and I are hoping people can inspire us with an even greater passion for birding. I'm also a keen bird photographer.

So: what we're after is **specific knowledge about good places to go in the UK where we can get good birds viewed from the car, or where bird photography is good from the car (with use of beanbag etc.), or restricted to the car in those cases where the car can act as a useful hide.**

Obviously having a car will increase our UK birding potential exponentially (with any luck!), but I'm posting this for specific info from anyone that may inspire us through possibilities we as yet know nothing about, beyond the obvious RSPB etc reserves we'll be able to visit properly.

Cheers in advance,
D
:t:

Why not just get out of the car and walk-about....much more fun, you see more and it is more of an exercise!.... You are sounding too "american"...... That is not something you want:)

Well, we did walk 13 miles to go birding on Saturday, so we're not averse to a short walk or two...
Having a car will increase our options, so I'm trying to investigate the breadth of possibilities that will become available to us.
|=)|

Why not just get out of the car and walk-about....much more fun, you see more and it is more of an exercise!.... You are sounding too "american"...... That is not something you want:)