• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

A day with partridges and grouses - in Scotland (1 Viewer)

curlewsandpiper1980

Today I found a location in the Highlands (quite NW of Aviemore) which is very rich in grouses and partridges. Being a beginner, I need some help.

I am somehow familiar with the pheasant (as I have it near my home and I hear its song in most days) but I am not familiar with all other grouses and partridges.

Today while doing a long hike, I stumbled upon at least 2 or 3 different species.

1) A Red legged partridge? First I saw a flock of 8 walking red-legged partridges, or at least I thought they were so, until I realise they could have been Chukar partridges. As I relied solely in my quick close-look, I missed the neck detail that would distinguish them. This was seen in dense birch/ Scot pine forest.

An hour later, overseeing a river valley with aspen, birch and scot pine, I had 3 more sightings.

2) A Red grouse or even another Red legged partridge? The first one was a grouse-like bird flew quickly up to the edge of the forest, only revealing an unremarkable body but with a bright orange open tail. Of course I understand light conditions can affect the colors. It could have been a red grouse, but also a female black grouse, a female Caper (unlikely) or even a red legged partridge.