• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tree Sparrows (1 Viewer)

Frosty

Just a quick question. I am still a real novice, and happened to see the Bill Oddie's programme on Beeb 2 this afternoon. He mentioned that tree sparrows are now quite rare, and that the only place that you are guaranteed to see them is the Rutland Water Reserve??? I have 6-10 that visit my garden on a daily basis - should I be doing anything to encourage more? eg. any particular type of seed - provide special nest boxes etc??

Any advice gratefully received.

Thanks

Gary

Attachments

• Treesparrow1.jpg
    Treesparrow1.jpg
    69.3 KB · Views: 107
  • tree sparrow.jpg
    tree sparrow.jpg
    123.7 KB · Views: 154
  • tree sparrow1.jpg
    tree sparrow1.jpg
    83.6 KB · Views: 139
We have a small breeding population of them locally. I think Bill was meaning that at Rutland you are just about guaranteed to see a decent number of them. I can certainly find them on every outing though the numbers easily seen do vary.

If you have them in the garden throughout the year then a few nestboxes (they are social birds liking a few close by) and mixed seed feeding should help them even more.

It seems to me you are already doing okay as regards providing food - I have a flock of about 50 here and they flock onto all the feeders with equal gutso. They like the seed feeders as in your photos, but also like to hang on the nut feeders and adore sunflower hearts.