Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Tcon-17 without tripod?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Wednesday 7th January 2004, 13:17   #1
helenol

 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,748
Tcon-17 without tripod?

I have finally purchased the tcon17 for use with my 750UZ.

Will I have to use a tripod when taking photos, because of camera shake or will I be able to use the camera with the tcon-17 sans tripod?
helenol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 7th January 2004, 15:08   #2
KC Foggin
Super Moderator
BF Supporter 2018
 
KC Foggin's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Myrtle Beach SC "Smiling Faces, Beautiful Places"
Posts: 234,899
I have it's previous lens, the B300 and where I think you will get a better shot with a tripod, I seldom use mine. I have learned to brace myself against something if the subject is above eyelevel and I brace my arms into my chest. Your arms will get used to holding it eventually and you will notice little, if any, camera shake.
__________________
KC a/k/a common KC

Karma - What you send out
Comes right back at ya

Last edited by KC Foggin : Wednesday 7th January 2004 at 17:03.
KC Foggin is online now  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 7th January 2004, 17:07   #3
IanF
Moderator
 
IanF's Avatar

 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Billingham, NE England
Posts: 55,865
Hi Helen,

Whilst I use the Tcon-17 with the Olympus C2100UZ which has IS, I also find that the Tcon-17 doesn't reduce the amount of light entering the camera. If anyhting it seems to give hihger shutter speeds. The only other consideration is the longer telephoto reach may lead to more noticeable camera shake.

As KC says, I'd have thought simple bracing yourself or even exhaling and taking the shot should be sufficent especially on brighter days. If you do need additional support at times then a monopod may suffice. I used to use one when taking photos with the EagleEye 5x converter.

Last edited by IanF : Wednesday 7th January 2004 at 17:13.
IanF is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 7th January 2004, 18:23   #4
helenol

 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,748
Thanks Ian and KC; I shall be practising!
helenol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 6th May 2004, 09:12   #5
Roy191
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 37
Helen,
I have exactly the same camera as you with the TCON 17. I take shots with the TCON 17 without a tripod and at full zoom. The higher the shutter speed ,the sharper the photo. To achieve this i use ... Apeture Priorety mode, open it up to the widest setting, this will give you a shallow depth of field but it is not a problem because it will isolate the subject nicely , but will also let the most available light into the cameras sensor. Then set ISO to 200...which makes the sensor more sensitive to available light. Next setting is SHQ ( super high quality ) which gives you plenty of pixels to play with if you want to crop the photo on the PC. When taking a shot i support the end of the big lens because that is where all the movement takes place, that is the balance point, not the camera. Put all these settings into ( My Mode ) and save them there so when you are in the field with the TCON 17 attached you can switch over to them quickly. Also i have found it wise to use the same settings in ( My Mode 2 ) with spot metering added for those difficult lighting situations..Roy.
Roy191 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 6th May 2004, 09:27   #6
helenol

 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 3,748
Roy, thank you very much for your excellent advice.

You seem to have solved all my problems in just one paragraph! What I have been doing is always concentrating on the shutter speed, and/or taking pics in the "sports (?)" mode.

I have been reluctant to use ISO 200, as I always thought it would lead to a slightly grainy appearance on the photo. I usually have the SHQ setting on.

Do you, by any chance, have the macro mode switched on too, when using the tcon?
helenol is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 6th May 2004, 09:58   #7
Roy191
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 37
Helen,
No i don't use macro with the zoom, but that is up to you, in fact i have not tried it, give it a shot. I only use macro for macro shooting not telephoto. As far as ISO 200 is concerned i doubt whether you will notice any difference in quality, i hav'nt. You could also try using the + and - settings in the exposure values and that will give you under expose by 1...normal....and over exposed by 1 , the camera will take three shots when you press the shutter. Can set the + or - up to about 3 steps either side of normal. At least one of the shots will be acceptable. Set it in ( My Mode 3 )...Roy.
Roy191 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 6th May 2004, 14:09   #8
jebir
Yoda Eagle
 
jebir's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Linköping, Sweden
Posts: 319
Hi,

I use Macro when I use the Raynox DCR 1850 Pro teleconverter with my Olympus C5050. OK, not the same devices but I don't think there is a huge difference between the teleconverters and the cameras ought to behave similarly. I found that the camera more often finds the focus when in Macro mode.

I also use the My-mode to quickly set the camera to a default setting but I take another approach to the exposure setting: I use shutter priority and set the shutter speed to the longest I know I can handle for the situation. For example 1/250 sec. if the subject is still or swimming or 1/500 if it is flying. (Maybe you would need 1/500 sec. and 1/1000 sec. for those situations, respectively because of the longer zoom of the 750Z.) In that way I have the chance of gaining some depth of field which also is desirable when taking pictures of birds that actually do move quite a bit and also are quite small and difficult to get the camera to focus on. Usually I spot focus and lock the focus on the bird before taking the pictures. In that way, I get rid of a lot of the shutter lag due to AF to take action.

I use ISO400 with a the sharpness factor set to -5 in order to minimize the noise. Also, If you use RAW and import the pictures in Photoshop CS, you will be able to correct the exposure by ±2 steps! So a perfect exposure becomes less critical. However, I don't know if you can do that on the 750Z?

Cheers, Jens.
jebir is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 7th May 2004, 07:47   #9
Roy191
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Auckland
Posts: 37
Hello Jens,
I think the shutter priority mode is a good idea also, except when you have a gloomy overcast day and the apeture will open to it's widest setting anyway to try and gather light for a set shutter speed.. 1/500 for example. But i am no pro and i experiment all the time and try others ideas. I will give your method a shot, i think it is good for bright sunny days but at this time of year it is quite dull down here and light levels are low...Roy NZ.
Roy191 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Saturday 8th May 2004, 06:26   #10
Bubo
Registered Birder
 
Bubo's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Auburn, Ca USA
Posts: 303
Hi Helen,
I've got the exact same rig - oly750 and tcon-17. I generally use a monopod when shooting, as i usually hike with my camera. when i go jogging i shot just by hand, and will definitly try Roy191's suggestion of aperture priority mode. I usually shoot in P and Sports mode. I use macro when 11.5 ft to about 18 ft. and non-macro there on out. Leslie (who has awesome photos in the gallary) has same setup too. Not sure if she uses tripod... I've used M mode too, for backlite situations, first metering in P mode, then drop down a few stops in shutter speed. i mainly also set ISO to auto, as i've not have much luck with high ISO's, just too much grain. I think cameras vary a bit perhaps w/ this. not sure. Well, my 2 cents :)
__________________
"In wilderness is the preservation of the world."- Henry David Thoreau
Bubo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 11th May 2004, 00:21   #11
bigbadja
Registered User
 
bigbadja's Avatar

 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Numeralla,NSW, Australia
Posts: 78
G'day Helenol,
I just posted "Galahs Canoodling" using my beloved Oly700+Tcon-17.
The morning light was poor, heavy overcast sky, camera on auto.
It choose to shoot at 1/100; F5; ISO174; Focal length 640mm.
I supported the lens against a verandah post.
This was fine....but I will be setting up the in future, tripod just in case. I leave the quick-fit bracket on the camera at all times.
The images are definitely brighter with the T-con-17, which makes it a remarkable lens.
Could you advise me as to the size and type of memory card, and the battery size your 750 uses. How many SHQ images does your Card accommodate? I realize that digitals will have a lesser use-by date than conventional film cameras.
__________________
Robert
bigbadja is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lens without tripod attachment yellow_belly Photographic Tripods / Heads 3 Sunday 27th March 2005 06:29
Are there any truely quick release tripod heads?? Paulyoly Photographic Tripods / Heads 4 Monday 23rd August 2004 19:26
tripod legs / head help peteh Photographic Tripods / Heads 13 Thursday 1st January 2004 01:38
tripod? Sylvia Tripod and Heads 12 Thursday 19th June 2003 18:07
Velbon tripod heads marek_walford Tripod and Heads 2 Thursday 20th February 2003 15:02

{googleads}
Opticron - NEW DBA VHD+ 8x42, 10x42. Prices from £579

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.14979005 seconds with 21 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 13:44.