• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Can these be rescued? (1 Viewer)

Balego

I took some photos of American widgeons a couple of evenings ago, just before sunset. The birds unfortunately were just this side of the sunshine, putting them in shadow. I was concentrating on keeping them in my screen and wasnt playing with the settings to try to brighten things up. I am pleased with the overal clarity ( I know I can sharpen them up) but disappointed with the darkness. I have tried to lighten them in the computer, but I'm not experienced enough using graphics programs in depth. Maybe someone here would like to have a go? These two photos are only reduced.. no contrast or sharpening, sootc except for sizing.
I find for the most part, either light or distance is working against me as I learn digiscoping. I seem to be in the wrong place at the right time.. I see the birds I want to see, but the sun isnt where I need it if the bird is, or the sun is when the bird isnt. ;)

Bev

Attachments

• amml.jpg
    amml.jpg
    62.9 KB · Views: 247
  • amwidpr.jpg
    amwidpr.jpg
    73.5 KB · Views: 205
well, you can always just give up and turn them into silhouettes ;)

Attachments

• silhoutte-amml.jpg
    silhoutte-amml.jpg
    49.6 KB · Views: 170
  • silhouette-amwidpr.jpg
    silhouette-amwidpr.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 149
  • amml2.jpg
    amml2.jpg
    68.6 KB · Views: 146
  • amwidpr2.jpg
    amwidpr2.jpg
    82.1 KB · Views: 174
I like the originals and Phil's versions too.