• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding Camera Recommendations (1 Viewer)

HLG

I'm new to birding and am looking for a budget digital camera. My current camera Panasonic ZS50 is on a tripod in my home that is about 40 feet away from the feeders in my backyard and am looking for recommendations on budget cameras that will be capable of full zoom to photograph without blurring of losing sharpness. Thanks for any help.

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

We're glad you found us and thanks for taking a moment to say hello. Please join in wherever you like ;)

I'm gonna move your thread to the camera section of the Forum and I'll subscribe you to the thread so you'll get notices when someone posts a suggestion ;)

I'm new to birding and am looking for a budget digital camera. My current camera Panasonic ZS50 is on a tripod in my home that is about 40 feet away from the feeders in my backyard and am looking for recommendations on budget cameras that will be capable of full zoom to photograph without blurring of losing sharpness. Thanks for any help.

A 500mm lens will have about a 4* angle of view, horizontal, on full frame. At 40', that is about 2 x 40 x tan(4*/2) = 2.8' wide field of view. A 1000mm equivalent lens would be about 1.4' wide. 2000mm is about 0.7' wide. So, I imagine you want something in the range 1500mm - 2000mm (1' - 0.7' wide field of view at 40'). [EDIT: I was off on the trig calculation in the original post, this edit is correct.]