• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

How to understand digiscoping magnification (1 Viewer)

JLPritchard

OK, I am a complete newbie and I find the terminology a maze to get through. It seems some spotting scopes digiscope with only an adapter and some with an adapter and their native eyepiece. I am trying to figure out whether the lengths are always given in full format equivalence.

For example, the Kowa doesn't use an eyepiece but says the 883/884 goes from 680-1000. Does this mean I multiply by 1.5/1.6 for a APS-C and 2X for a MFT to get my magnification or lens equivalency?

The Swarovski 85mm does use the eyepiece and advertises 750-1800. Same deal - do I use a multiplier.

If this is the way it works, the Swarovski is a much more potent telephoto lens equivalent using a MFT at extreme magification over the Kowa (2000mm versus 3600mm).

Am I missing how this works? It's so hard for me to try to find the data for the various spotting scopes on how they work with adapters. Knowing that two spotters both go 25X-50X would seem to work only if I don't use an adapter with a lens but simply take a picture manually via the eyepiece.

I can't help but think I am missing some puzzle pieces. Thanks for any enlightenment.

[And I am trying to juggle this with FOV. With a wider field of view, I would think a spotter could let me go higher magnification without cutting off feed or head as a scope with narrower FOV would]

Last edited: