• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Is overcorrected spherical aberration in spotting scopes bad? (1 Viewer)

mskb

Hello,

Just playing around with the Kowa 663M + 20-60 I received recently. This is my first time with star tests. I will soon post some pictures once I get those adapters. There were two really big skyline buildings behind our apartment a little more than a couple of miles away, on top of which there are a few bright red lamps. Some switch on and off. I thought I would use those as a point source.

My preliminary observations at 60X max magnification across the various light sources indicate: circular rings, and clean center both inside and outside of focus - indicating potentially low astigmatism & coma. The rings were sharper and brighter outside of focus; the rings were still distinguishable inside of focus, however they appeared less bright, and less sharp. Relating this observation back to the spherical aberration section in: https://starizona.com/tutorial/star-testing-telescope-optics/ , indicates that this could be a potential case of overcorrected spherical aberration?

Is this a bad thing? And under what conditions can I imagine this issue to influence wildlife & potentially some stargazing observations in a bad way?

Again, sorry for not attaching pictures. I will update the thread hopefully soon with those images, and a resolution test.

Cheers,
Kumar

Last edited:
Every scope is going to have some amount of over or under corrected CA. The question is how much?