• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bird Photography or plain old birding!! (1 Viewer)

mountainflute

Ankur Shah
Hi all,
I don't know if this is the right forum, so the moderators may place it in an appropriate forum.
Let me highlight a peculiar problem.. I've been into ornithology since a long long time now.. Although erratic, depending on the time my job has allowed me to. SO, it's not as if I've become bored with the stuff.. Even on my treks today, the look out for birds is always there at the back of my eye.
But, ever since I've got into photography (I'm just an amateur), trying to sight birds has become even more difficult, and I'm saddled with clicking pics of common garden birds or otherwise, not too good shots of birds far far away (in shrek-land).. I guess my technique for photography has to improve, but, lately, that zing of photography has gone.. And the old trusty binoculars is slowly taking its position round my neck again. While I try to improve my technique, I wonder if it was a waste of investment in getting a telephoto and a tripod when I can't get either interesting birds or interesting pics to click...
I only understand that perhaps I need to dedicate more time for photography.. but, even when so, it's difficult to get good shots!!
Experiences from more senior people on this forum please

I wonder if it was a waste of investment in getting a telephoto and a tripod when I can't get either interesting birds or interesting pics to click...

Probably ;)