• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Tried a new use on a birding app (1 Viewer)

As a NEWBIE I've bought some field guides (National Geographic + Sublet) and though I like them they put me in "Information Overload". I tried a smaller one for my location, Peterson Field Guide for Western North America but still had overload. Then a few more to make it even simpler and more focused...Birds of California, then Birds of Southern California, then more even simpler.

Then I got 2 free apps from Audubon...1. Audubon Birds and Audubon Birds California. In the California version you could type in a bird and it would tell which places it was seen in and if you listed that place it would list all the birds that were noted there on that day.

I picked a place, wrote down all the bird seen there, then looked up each bird and steadied them then listened to the songs they included in the apps. After a couple days of study I went there and (whereas before I had bird blindness and couldn't see a bird anywhere) all of a sudden I could see birds everywhere AND identified some by their song.

I pick another place to try it again. It worked AGAIN.

Of course this isn't for everyone but if you're a newbie that's "wired" like me, it might help. All of a sudden, I feel cocky now! I wait for somebody to ask, what kind of bird is that? I try to answer in such a way that they'll have no idea that I'm still a newbie!

You want a simple and free bird app, try Cornell's "Merlin Bird ID" At least it was free when I downloaded it.