• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Cameras that Retain Autofocus with Teleconverters (1 Viewer)

I'm no camera expert but I think it's more to do with the lens you put on the camera. My EF300mm F4L works fine with a 1.4x on both my 600D and 7D.

This a useful page

Thank you! That page has really helped me. Will the compatibility vary with the version of the teleconverter? So will a 1.4 x and 1.4 x II have the same compatibility with the lenses as a 1.4 x III (the one show in the chart) ?

Pretty sure they just changed the labelling of the extenders in that page when the extenders went from II to III and that it applies to the initial versions but someone who's been doing photography longer can confirm.

Doesn't make a difference whether it's a Mk 1,2 or 3 TC it's the aperture that counts.
Only the 1D series and the 5DMk3 will AF at f8 .The other bodies will AF at f6.3 maximum .( Just read the post above that says other bodies only AF to f5.6, this needs checking out so I might be wrong!)
It then depends which body and lens and TC combination you use to achieve AF.
An f2.8 lens with a 2.0x TC = f5.6.... no problems
An f4 lens with a 2.0x= F8 limited options dependant on which body you use.
An f4 with a 1.4 TC = f5.6 no problems
An f5.6 with a 1.4 lens =F6.3 no problems
An f5.6 lens with a 2.0x= f11 No way !

Adding a TC will slow down AF, the bigger the aperture the less it's noticeable but you are pushing it the smaller it gets.