Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Magnifying the passion for nature. Zeiss Victory Harpia 95. New!

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

AF confirmation chip and EC-14

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Saturday 19th September 2009, 04:51   #1
pshute
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 843
AF confirmation chip and EC-14

Can anyone tell me what will happen if I connect an EC-14 teleconverter between my E-520 and a manual focus lens with an AF confirmation that reports a focal length of 300mm? Will the camera think it has a 420mm lens on, and will the IS work correctly?

And is it likely that a modern TC will work ok with what's probably a 30 or 40 year old, not so special lens? It's an Asanuma (Tokina?) 300mm prime lens, M42 mount.

I'd look around for an M42 TC instead, but only 2x seem to be available, and I'm concerned that the image quality will suffer too much, and that it'll end up too difficult to find the subject in that narrow field of view. I think I can cope with 840mm equivalent, but maybe not 1200. I'd also rather not lose two stops of light, one is bad enough.
pshute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 20th September 2009, 12:07   #2
RAH
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 1,072
DOn't you have to tell the confirmation chip what focal length you are using? I think you do, so if you add a teleconverter, I think you would have to change its settings to get it to know. However, I don't think that that setting is all that important to the chip. From what I've read, it is mainly so the EXIF data will be correct, which is a useful function to help you remember what lens you used. It may also help with the camera's image stabilization functioning. I'll bet it will still work OK without bothering to change the chip settings.

IMHO, don't even think about using a 2X teleconverter on the lens, unless you want to lose a lot of IQ. Even with an EC-20, unless you have a high-quality lens, you will lose quality.
RAH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 22nd September 2009, 15:55   #3
Mad_Sunday
Registered User
 
Mad_Sunday's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Staffordshire, England
Posts: 237
There are often "Solitel" M42 1.85x converters on ebay (UK) and I'm VERY impressed with the one I have that cost 5 ish and came with metal caps and a leather case. There are also some 1.4x (vivitar) ones I have seen but I always get outbid on them as they go for 30+.
As I understand it, if you intend to make use of the IS system the focal length info needs to be correct for IS to work correctly.

Pete

Last edited by Mad_Sunday : Tuesday 22nd September 2009 at 16:19.
Mad_Sunday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 22nd September 2009, 21:37   #4
pshute
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAH View Post
DOn't you have to tell the confirmation chip what focal length you are using? I think you do, so if you add a teleconverter, I think you would have to change its settings to get it to know.
Because the EC-14 is an electronic lens intended for Olympus cameras, I was thinking it should contain circuitry to get the focal length of the main lens from its chip, then multiply it by 1.4 and report that to the camera. In theory that should happen, but who knows whether the reverse engineering process resulted in a chip that will work in that situation.
pshute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 22nd September 2009, 21:55   #5
pshute
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad_Sunday View Post
There are often "Solitel" M42 1.85x converters on ebay (UK) and I'm VERY impressed with the one I have that cost 5 ish and came with metal caps and a leather case. There are also some 1.4x (vivitar) ones I have seen but I always get outbid on them as they go for 30+.
There seem to be none on there at the moment, but it's good to know that they exist. I'm not sure I want to lose nearly two stops with a 1.85, and if 1.4x's are that expensive then it might work out better for me to just buy an old 400mm f6.3 lens instead, then I only lose half a stop (but end up with a lens that won't fit in my camera bag).

30 is too expensive? The people who stick to buying new AF equipment must find that bewildering.
pshute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Tuesday 22nd September 2009, 22:09   #6
Mad_Sunday
Registered User
 
Mad_Sunday's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Staffordshire, England
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by pshute View Post
30 is too expensive? The people who stick to buying new AF equipment must find that bewildering.
Unless, like me, they lost their job in February (redundancy) and have been out of work for 7 Months :( and compared to the price of the Solitel it is expensive. I also think that it's a good compromise between the brighter (but less reach) 1.4x and the "longer" (but slower) 2x converters. I still would like more reach than the 1100mm EFL I have now, It makes you realise how difficult things must have been with film 35mm.

I started a new job last week so maybe I can now afford the 50-500 Sigma!

Pete

Last edited by Mad_Sunday : Tuesday 22nd September 2009 at 22:14.
Mad_Sunday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 23rd September 2009, 18:33   #7
Cristian Mihai
Cristian Mihai
 
Cristian Mihai's Avatar

 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bucharest
Posts: 16,458
"I started a new job last week so maybe I can now afford the 50-500 Sigma!"

Great. I didn't lose my job, but I can not afford the Bigma...for the next few months.

Last edited by Cristian Mihai : Wednesday 23rd September 2009 at 20:38.
Cristian Mihai is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 23rd September 2009, 20:22   #8
pshute
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cristian Mihai View Post
I didn't lose my job, but I can not afford the Bigma...for the next few month.
Whether I could afford one or not, I'm not sure I'd want to carry one.
pshute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Wednesday 23rd September 2009, 23:02   #9
Mad_Sunday
Registered User
 
Mad_Sunday's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Staffordshire, England
Posts: 237
I was joking! lol

Pete
Mad_Sunday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 5th October 2009, 22:12   #10
Mad_Sunday
Registered User
 
Mad_Sunday's Avatar

 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Staffordshire, England
Posts: 237
Quote:
Originally Posted by pshute View Post
There seem to be none on there at the moment, but it's good to know that they exist. I'm not sure I want to lose nearly two stops with a 1.85, and if 1.4x's are that expensive then it might work out better for me to just buy an old 400mm f6.3 lens instead, then I only lose half a stop (but end up with a lens that won't fit in my camera bag).

30 is too expensive? The people who stick to buying new AF equipment must find that bewildering.
There are a couple for sale at the moment on ebay, here is a link to one of them.........

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Vintage-Solite...d=p3286.c0.m14

Pete
Mad_Sunday is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Focus confirmation chip wings Digiscoping Accessories 8 Monday 12th January 2009 11:44
Chip notes from Washington DC oiseaux Say Hello 5 Monday 18th July 2005 15:22

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.14408302 seconds with 20 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10.