Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Desk top switching on problem help please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Thursday 2nd August 2007, 19:11   #1
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Question Desk top switching on problem help please.

My sisters computer is playing up. When you push the button on the tower to turn it on, all she gets is a clicking sound and a flashing switch. The PC is a Packard Bell. Its not even giving us an error screen. It just wont turn on. Can anybody help please


Paul
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 2nd August 2007, 19:44   #2
alan_rymer
Registered User
 
alan_rymer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Woodley, Berkshire
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashie View Post
My sisters computer is playing up. When you push the button on the tower to turn it on, all she gets is a clicking sound and a flashing switch. The PC is a Packard Bell. Its not even giving us an error screen. It just wont turn on. Can anybody help please


Paul
Paul

Try unplugging the power cable for a minute and then retry the power switch!. If you get the same prob you've probab;y got a H/W problem. PSU Motherboard. If it still happens after unplugging, open it up and remove the power from the drives/CD and retry powering on. If that fails ?.
__________________
Alan

Its not an optical illusion!. It just looks like one!.
Latest Life bird: Yellow Browed Warbler 27/10/18
alan_rymer is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 2nd August 2007, 19:50   #3
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Thanks Alan. I did try the off and on part, so I will now unplug the drives and give it a try.
Cheers
Paul
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 2nd August 2007, 20:50   #4
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan_rymer View Post
Paul

Try unplugging the power cable for a minute and then retry the power switch!. If you get the same prob you've probab;y got a H/W problem. PSU Motherboard. If it still happens after unplugging, open it up and remove the power from the drives/CD and retry powering on. If that fails ?.
Tried unpluging the drives & am still getting the same a clicking sound & flashing power switch, also noticed a fashing red LED on the motherbord & that seems to be where the clicking is coming from,
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 3rd August 2007, 03:48   #5
iraqbabbler
Registered User
 
iraqbabbler's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 453
check RAM

It sounds like the RAM is not being recognised by the motherboard ..
Has anyone opened up the computer lately and played with the hardware ?
Anyway you could try this:

1- check that the monitor cable is securely attached to your computer.

2- Open up the box and remove the RAM sticks, gently and carefully clean around them (with a sucker vacuum) and plug them back in ..

try that .. and post a more detailed description if the problem persists
iraqbabbler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 07:23   #6
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqbabbler View Post
It sounds like the RAM is not being recognised by the motherboard ..
Has anyone opened up the computer lately and played with the hardware ?
Anyway you could try this:

1- check that the monitor cable is securely attached to your computer.

2- Open up the box and remove the RAM sticks, gently and carefully clean around them (with a sucker vacuum) and plug them back in ..

try that .. and post a more detailed description if the problem persists
I have tried cleaning the Ram & even moving it to the other empty slot but it's still the same, do you thing I should get a new memory?
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 14:10   #7
alan_rymer
Registered User
 
alan_rymer's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Woodley, Berkshire
Posts: 4,303
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cashie View Post
I have tried cleaning the Ram & even moving it to the other empty slot but it's still the same, do you thing I should get a new memory?
No!.

If you powered on without the memory, you should get a continuouse beeping.
Does anything start revlving?.

Processor fan
Drives etc?.

Sounds like you PSU is U/S. ( alt least, thats the cheapest option! )
__________________
Alan

Its not an optical illusion!. It just looks like one!.
Latest Life bird: Yellow Browed Warbler 27/10/18
alan_rymer is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 14:13   #8
iraqbabbler
Registered User
 
iraqbabbler's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 453
check other things

Try to establish that it is the RAM before buying a new RAM stick ..
I'm just wondering if you've tried connecting the machine to another monitor just to exclude the possibility of monitor malfunction ..

Try that and please report anything that appears on the screen at all ..
Also, can you tell us if you're able to open the CD Rom drive after you power up ?
iraqbabbler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 14:27   #9
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by alan_rymer View Post
No!.

If you powered on without the memory, you should get a continuouse beeping.
Does anything start revlving?.

Processor fan
Drives etc?.

Sounds like you PSU is U/S. ( alt least, thats the cheapest option! )
Alan, only the fan in the power supply is working.
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 14:30   #10
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Quote:
Originally Posted by iraqbabbler View Post
Try to establish that it is the RAM before buying a new RAM stick ..
I'm just wondering if you've tried connecting the machine to another monitor just to exclude the possibility of monitor malfunction ..

Try that and please report anything that appears on the screen at all ..
Also, can you tell us if you're able to open the CD Rom drive after you power up ?
I have tried anther monitor, & the cd drives will not open ether, myself I think she should get a new base unit.
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 18:40   #11
sidrat
Swaffham Birder
 
sidrat's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Swaffham, Norfolk
Posts: 125
From what you describe it appears to be the power supply unit (PSU), which is a simple item to change. You do not need to replace the whole case as any PSU should fit ok. You can test to see if the PSU will switch on by doing the following -

1. Switch of the mains socket your PC is plugged into (leave the mains cable plugged in, it provides an earth to the unit). Touch a bare metal part of the case to ensure you discharge any static electricity.

2. Locate the motherboard power connector (usually a 20pin long connector) press the latch mechanism on the side and unplug the connector (sometimes a small wiggle of the connector is required)

3. Look at the connector you have just unplugged and use something to short together pins 16 & 17 (a paper clip will do) make sure the connector is in a position so it does not touch anything electrical.

Click image for larger version

Name:	wtx_24p_cableconn.gif
Views:	60
Size:	1.3 KB
ID:	97784

4. Switch on power at the mains socket, your hard drive and CD/DVD drive should power up and you should be able to open the tray

5. If you get no CD/DVD opening then it is a good bet that your PSU is blown, get a new one!!

A new PSU of 450Watts should cost you between 10 - 25 unless you go for a top-of-the-range type which will cost a lot more.

Hope this helps

Pete
sidrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 5th August 2007, 19:08   #12
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Thumbs up

Thanks for the info Pete, I will certainly try it for a tenner or so & if all fails She wont have lost much.

Cheers mate
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 6th August 2007, 06:30   #13
iraqbabbler
Registered User
 
iraqbabbler's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 453
agree with Sidrat

I agree with Sidrat .. However, it may be easier and SAFER to get a computer shop technician to replace the PSU for you
iraqbabbler is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 6th August 2007, 20:44   #14
sidrat
Swaffham Birder
 
sidrat's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Swaffham, Norfolk
Posts: 125
I would still replace it myself, 4 screws and a dozen connectors is all it takes, 15 mins at the most. A shop will charge you anything up to 30 to do it.

Pete
sidrat is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 9th August 2007, 18:55   #15
Cashie
Hello folks
 
Cashie's Avatar

 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Poulton le fylde, Lancashire
Posts: 8,806
Cheers Guy's

Found out it was the mother board at fault, and it isn't worth fixing so we have just been out and bought a new base unit by Fujitsu siemens.

Paul
Cashie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Birdseed growers switching to producing crops for ethanol Mmcguire Food and Feeders 1 Tuesday 10th April 2007 07:33
IE 6 Problem DJRWhittle Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 13 Thursday 25th January 2007 19:55
Switching from Outlook Express to Outlook tuftyhill Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 4 Tuesday 31st October 2006 00:05
Switching to digital SLR: Advice? jude55 Cameras And Photography 3 Wednesday 6th July 2005 18:25

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.17445111 seconds with 28 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22.