• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Chickadee help (1 Viewer)

LisaM

Hi everyone,
I'm new to birding and need some help/advice. Chickadees moved into a birdhouse in my yard and had a nest of babies--all seemed to be going well but I got scared when I saw nearby sparrows starting hang out above their birdhouse and when I saw one come out of the hole I installed some hanging fishing line with nuts tied to the end (hung it from my roof about 6" in front of the birdhouse.) Shortly thereafter the chickadees quit coming to the house..I don't know if it was because of the fishing line or because of the sparrows, but the poor babies ended up dying and I feel heartsick.
Any advice on how to keep other birds out of the chickadee houses? This house has a 1 1/4" hole which I see now is too big. Should I do 1" or 1 1/8" hole? It almost seems like a sparrow could still get in 1 1/8".
Thanks in advance.

Unfortunately this happens quite a bit with House Sparrows around. I would leave the next box hole alone though. Others may have some different ideas for you.

Hi there and a warm welcome to you from those of us on staff here at BirdForum :t:

Please join in wherever you like ;)

Very unfortunate, House Sparrows are a huge problem here. A 1-1/8" hole should keep sparrows out. We restricted our box's hole from 1.5", and sparrows are unable to get through now.