Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Discover the ZEISS Digital Nature Hub

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

Soft Focus of 7d + Canon 400mm F/5.6L

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 12 votes, 5.00 average.
Old Monday 14th May 2012, 16:25   #1
vipantonio

Soft Focus of 7d + Canon 400mm F/5.6L

Hello, I'm newbie here :) My Canon EOS 7D + Canon 400mm f/5.6 L BIF photos are soft.

I have read many threads, including this one, and wonder if you could tell from these pics if this is SS problem, or miss focus, or stupid photographer :) ?

I was shooting using One Center Point, AI-Servo mode, High burst rate, Hand-held, RAW. F/7.1, 1/800 sec, ISO 500, 400mm fixed lens mentioned before. Photo on the left is exported directly from Lightroom 4 RAW file, resized to 800px, no sharpening. Photo on the right is 100% crop while zoomed in lightroom and print-previewed, saved fom within Paint program as JPEG.

One more question: how can I check whether I definitely shot in that mode, check Focus point (CF card is already formatted). Thanks

P.S. I have some Bird In Flight photos which show similar results. Should I attach them?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	pempe_full.jpg
Views:	841
Size:	315.7 KB
ID:	384592  Click image for larger version

Name:	pempe.jpg
Views:	1179
Size:	279.0 KB
ID:	384593  
Old Monday 14th May 2012, 16:29   #2
lmans66
BF Supporter 2020

Quote:
Originally Posted by vipantonio View Post
Hello, I'm newbie here :) My Canon EOS 7D + Canon 400mm f/5.6 L BIF photos are soft.

I have read many threads, including this one, and wonder if you could tell from these pics if this is SS problem, or miss focus, or stupid photographer :) ?