• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What time of the year? (1 Viewer)

njlarsen

Gallery Moderator
Opus Editor
Supporter
Barbados
When is actually the best time of the year for birding in Peru? And if it differ for different attractions, when would be best for different parts?

thanks
Niels

I've just come back from Peru - left just before the earthquake. Went to Atacama desert (where the earthquake hit), ocean, Amamzon basin and high Andes where we did the Inca Trail. Saw wonderful birds - over 300 species. I am no expert but all the organised trips seem to go July to September.

Zarac

Between March and November is the best time to visit Peru, but I guided in a group of Germans in February and we have seen many birds.
If you need help write your questions.
Greetings

There is an excellent map site showing rainfall totals by month in South America so you can judge by country and month. See

http://jisao.washington.edu/data_sets/willmott/samerica/

I have heard that NW Peru and the Tumbesian area can be visited any time of year as well as the SW and W coastal areas. Manu, Bosque Unchog, Tina Maria, Junin are rainy during the northern hemishpere winter.

Last edited: