• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

What I learnt from a trip to GlassParadise(tm) (1 Viewer)

eronald

I'm a painter.. I raise my glass for a few seconds to make out details and "feel" the urban landscape. My 7x42 UltraVid HDs are at Leica repair for a check, and I would like a smaller glass anyway, went to the local Swarovski rep, who sent me to a really nice retailer called Le Vieux Campeur who have a lot of stock.

I was thinking 8x25 or 8x32. I learnt it's hopeless.

The look through an 8x42 is ALWAYS more immediate than an 8x32. I compared some Zeiss, Leica and Swarovski. I compared Zeiss Conquest to Leica UV 8x32 and Swarovski El 8x32 and other 8x30. I compared a bunch of 8x42 alpha glasses, and even the Trinovid HD. The 8x42 always wins against a 32 on the quality of the "first look".

Sharpness and brightness depend on how good the glass is - immediacy of vision depends on the exit pupil size, not on the "transmission" factor or the actual brightness. At least for anything I could find and test. All the 42s fell in place with immersive immediacy, the 32s and smaller were often super-sharp but fiddly with regards to eye placement. I wear glasses and collapse the eyecups.

Lesson learnt. I may get an even better glass than my UVHD, but I won't bother with the small glasses. Some of the smaller glasses actually gave me a headache.

The tests were in the late afternoon, with still decent light.
I don't know if this is conventional wisdom, but when it comes to view, I trust *my* eyes.

Edmund

Last edited: