Join for FREE
It only takes a minute!
Zeiss - Always on the lookout for something special – Shop now

Welcome to BirdForum.
BirdForum is the net's largest birding community, dedicated to wild birds and birding, and is absolutely FREE! You are most welcome to register for an account, which allows you to take part in lively discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.

New wifi router. How to input the new password on my laptop?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread
Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 08:16   #1
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
New wifi router. How to input the new password on my laptop?

Situation is.......
Virgin gave me a new router. The engineer changed the password on my phone and my laptop.
For some reason, after 2 months, the laptop has forgotten the new password and is only showing the old defunct one. (Phone is fine).
I cannot find a way to put the new one back in.
BTW....I click on the symbol at the bottom and it show a list of all wifi in my range but only my old one.....not the new one.
It must be simple ut I dont know how.
Any ideas please.
Also.....the engineer has given me a paper. On it is a sequence of numbers prefixed with VN. The other is a sequence of letters....one is captal.....and one is a number.
Thanks
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey

Last edited by David Smith : Thursday 26th July 2018 at 08:20.
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 10:01   #2
d.steeley
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: coventry
Posts: 889
Hi David, try turning your router off and on again. It should be the strongest signal so should appear at the top of the list of available networks you see when clicking the symbol on your laptop screen. Click on that network and when you click on "connect" you should have the opportunity to put in the password. Your wifi password should be on a label on the router somewhere.

Dave
d.steeley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 16:19   #3
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.steeley View Post
Hi David, try turning your router off and on again. It should be the strongest signal so should appear at the top of the list of available networks you see when clicking the symbol on your laptop screen. Click on that network and when you click on "connect" you should have the opportunity to put in the password. Your wifi password should be on a label on the router somewhere.

Dave
Thanks. I have tried that without success. Still shows only the defunct number.
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 16:38   #4
delia todd
Moderator but....... If I say the wrong thing put it down to Senior Moments
BF Supporter 2018
 
delia todd's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Perthshire
Posts: 233,654
Hi David..... gawd what a pain!!!

Sounds like you need to get in touch with Virgin now, if what t'other Dave suggested hasn't worked.

They may be able to suggest something.
__________________
In between goals is a thing called life, that has to be lived and enjoyed

2006 63, 2007 52, 2008 46, 2009 32, 2010 31, 2011 27 Total 81

Latest Patch tick: Magpie

The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing - Socrates
delia todd is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 19:06   #5
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Yes..looking that way. I really thought there would be a simple fix......like there was in the 60s when the phone box gave problems :)
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 20:32   #6
Richard Scott
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Yorkshire
Posts: 342
I've got a virgin hub 3 and the laptop couldn't detect it on wi-fi when other devices could. Check this out https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...3/td-p/3170903

Connect an Ethernet cable to your laptop and then enable a guest account and see if that's helps.
Richard Scott is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 26th July 2018, 21:40   #7
d.steeley
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: coventry
Posts: 889
Hi David, just in case you have accidentally turned off wifi reception on your laptop....

See link: https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001410.htm

Dave
d.steeley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 27th July 2018, 09:11   #8
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by d.steeley View Post
Hi David, just in case you have accidentally turned off wifi reception on your laptop....

See link: https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch001410.htm

Dave
Thats interesting. By coincidence the mouse stopped interacting with the curser around the same time.......i wonder if that problem is connected.
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Friday 27th July 2018, 10:13   #9
andyadcock
Registered User
 
andyadcock's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nottingham UK and St Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 12,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Smith View Post
Situation is.......
Virgin gave me a new router. The engineer changed the password on my phone and my laptop.
For some reason, after 2 months, the laptop has forgotten the new password and is only showing the old defunct one. (Phone is fine).
I cannot find a way to put the new one back in.
BTW....I click on the symbol at the bottom and it show a list of all wifi in my range but only my old one.....not the new one.
It must be simple ut I dont know how.
Any ideas please.
Also.....the engineer has given me a paper. On it is a sequence of numbers prefixed with VN. The other is a sequence of letters....one is captal.....and one is a number.
Thanks
I'm with Virgin,
the VN number (VM on mine) is the network that belongs to you, the alpha numeric underneath is the password e.g mine starts with fsn7txf.......etc



A

Last edited by andyadcock : Friday 27th July 2018 at 10:17.
andyadcock is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 27th July 2018, 12:21   #10
hazelwood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Midlands
Posts: 23
Are you on Mac, Windows, Linux or Chrome?
hazelwood is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 27th July 2018, 14:29   #11
andyadcock
Registered User
 
andyadcock's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nottingham UK and St Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 12,268
PC running Firefox, IE and Chrome.


A
andyadcock is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Sunday 29th July 2018, 09:58   #12
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by hazelwood View Post
Are you on Mac, Windows, Linux or Chrome?
Its Windows 8.
Now this is weird. Grandson is home from uni and was goingto check it over. I switched it on and.....bingo!!! Its come back. Didnt have time to check the mouse but wifi seems to be back.
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Sunday 29th July 2018, 12:16   #13
andyadcock
Registered User
 
andyadcock's Avatar

 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Nottingham UK and St Petersburg, Russia
Posts: 12,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by David Smith View Post
Its Windows 8.
Now this is weird. Grandson is home from uni and was goingto check it over. I switched it on and.....bingo!!! Its come back. Didnt have time to check the mouse but wifi seems to be back.
How far is the router from your devices?

At my home, my tv will sometimes struggle to pick up the wifi signal as it's three rooms away. If you do have an issue like this, you can buy a signal booster.
andyadcock is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Monday 30th July 2018, 15:25   #14
snowyowl
Registered User
 
snowyowl's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada and Central Florida, USA
Posts: 3,417
I'm expecting a new router to arrive in the next couple of days. I'll keep my finger crossed that I don't have a similar experience. I just got a new tablet and it wouldn't connect to the router until I called tech support and they talked me through the necessary steps.
__________________
Dan
Snowy Owl
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/Nature
snowyowl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 2nd August 2018, 16:06   #15
snowyowl
Registered User
 
snowyowl's Avatar

 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada and Central Florida, USA
Posts: 3,417
My new router arrived today and it was simplicity itself to hook up and get running. All I had to do was plug in the power supply then transfer the cables. I had to phone my service provider to activate the new unit and that was amazingly quick. Not sure if there is any improvement in the service but time will make that clearer.
__________________
Dan
Snowy Owl
http://snowyowl.smugmug.com/Nature
snowyowl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Thursday 2nd August 2018, 17:34   #16
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyadcock View Post
How far is the router from your devices?

At my home, my tv will sometimes struggle to pick up the wifi signal as it's three rooms away. If you do have an issue like this, you can buy a signal booster.
I tried the device within 2 metres.....no success
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Old Wednesday 15th August 2018, 04:26   #17
ben_r_
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 5
David, did you get this resolved? Have you tried contacting Virgin and seeing if they could assist with the issue?
ben_r_ is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Friday 17th August 2018, 08:43   #18
David Smith
Warrington Lancs
 
David Smith's Avatar

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Warrington
Posts: 2,762
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben_r_ View Post
David, did you get this resolved? Have you tried contacting Virgin and seeing if they could assist with the issue?
Sort of :)
As per my last post, before my Grandson had chance to look at it, it decided to come back to life on it's own accord.
The mouse problem was sorted.........Grandson tried it on his and it refused to respond. I bought a new mouse (8.50) and that is working find.
So............I have no idea why the laptop decided to stop communicating with the router or why it then decided to start again. I am now "leaving well alone" and hoping it does not happen again.
Thanks to everyone for the help/suggestions.
__________________
www.clearskyphotography.co.uk
I know that you believe you understand what you think I said but I'm not sure you realise that what you heard is not what I meant.
Robert McCluskey
David Smith is offline  
Reply With Quote

BF Supporter 2008 2009 Support BirdForum With A Donation

Advertisement
Reply


Thread Tools
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting to wifi with smartphones/tablets with Belkin Router Steve Babbs Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 11 Tuesday 28th August 2012 17:27
migrating from XP laptop to Win7 laptop njlarsen Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 4 Saturday 12th May 2012 18:34
Wifi advice for laptop d.steeley Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 10 Sunday 9th March 2008 17:40
AV input into laptop colonelboris Computers, Birding Software And The Internet 9 Friday 30th June 2006 21:27

{googleads}

Fatbirder's Top 1000 Birding Websites

Help support BirdForum

Page generated in 0.19693208 seconds with 30 queries
All times are GMT. The time now is 13:24.