• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

kingfisher quest (1 Viewer)

jontrus

jontrus
I am new to bird photography and am having some success which is spuring me on but
am currently trying to get a nice photo of a kingfisher and am failing miserably.I have been to local bird conservation areas and although i have seen some in flight and some perched in faraway trees i have not yet had a chance to get a shot within range.I am using
an olympus E500 with a 50-500 sigma lens.Any tips on helping in my 'quest' would be gratefully received, i live in west sussex so any recommendations for this area would also be useful.

Try putting a nice bare branch upright in the water near to where you have seen them.Choose a position in a shallow slow moving part of the lake/river and set a screen or hide up within range.Then basically just wait and over a period of time they should start using the perch providing there are fry in the water.Best of luck,Mike.

Yeah! Go to the lakes / rivers fishermans hut / clubhouse and ask them to tell you where their members have seen K/fishers sitting up. Get there and just wait a while. The stick (an upright with a kink or horizontal perch) in the river (over slower shallow zone) trick works but you need to establish that there's a bird on that stretch. Check the light direction. Try and keep the sun behind you (limits the birds vision on you) and gives you great light on the colours.
Pete

jontrus said:
I am new to bird photography and am having some success which is spuring me on but